Andrew

Times are a Changin’

In Uncategorized on June 18, 2012 at 5:25 pm

To keep with the music theme of my last post I really feel like times are a changing for me.  Now I have said this many times in the past and have probably ticked off family and friends who have heard me proclaim that I am going to do something about my weight yet I continue to walk down the path of laziness without a resulting change in my life. What has caused this change in my way of thinking?  I am just getting tired of who I am and am now more open to making the needed changes along and do the work that encompasses these changes. It is just too bad I didn’t come to this realization when I was much younger and walking and running didn’t come with the associated knee and back pains that just getting out of bed bring me now.  The simple act of getting out of bed can now take up to five minutes and is not without a few curse words and a whole lot of whining.  I can only imagine how long it will take me once I start working out.  I better set my alarm clock for at least 15 minutes earlier than I do now in order to get out the door every morning on time.

So what am I going to do to facilitate this change you ask?  Being nearly 500 pounds does not lend itself well to going to the gym and hopping on the treadmill as most treadmills are not built to handle my weight.  There is no doubt that a few miles of me walking on these exercise machines would result in considerable damage and reduce them to nothing more than scrap metal. I have only one option and this option is the one that literally scares me the most.  My exercise will have to come by way of good old fashioned walking.  I have no idea why the thought of walking any great distance scares me so much but it really just does,  I have a mental block that keeps me tethered to a place where I am most comfortable and even walking two blocks to the local playground scares me.  Somehow I need to push past this, suck the pain up and do what I need to do for my health’s sake.  Leaving it up to myself has never worked before but I think I am motivated enough that this time could actually be different. At least I know walking on the sidewalks will not result in them being reduced to rubble because of my weight.

Leave a Reply

