Andrew

Just an update….thats all….

In Uncategorized on August 24, 2013 at 7:14 pm

It’s been a little while since I have written in this blog and I felt it was time for an update.  This post will be more or less a chance for me to keep a track record of my progress so anyone who reads this I do apologize in advance if it lacks the usual wittiness.

As of this writing I am currently recovering from my two week vacation and have spent the last week working on losing the two pounds I gained while I was out.  I can say that I have now officially lost 43 pounds since I started getting serious about my weight in April of 2013.  At my highest weight I was 527 pounds so being down a total of 69 pounds has made a world of difference to my knees and overall health.  I can now walk much greater distances without having to stop and suck massive amounts of air and can happily say that I am no longer the 500 pound man that I used to be.  Those times are behind me and will continue to be but a blip in my rear view mirror as my weight loss continues.  My goal of losing a total of 80 pounds by Christmas is certainly one that is attainable and one I am positive I will easily hit.  After being this size for many years of my life the possibilities of having a life that is totally different from the one I have known is exciting and scary all at the same time. 

Another important change is that while I have been out on vacation Sharon and I were able to order bicycles that will support our size.  While this may sound like a petty thing let me tell you finding a bike to hold someone my size is not an easy proposition.  After literally two to three months of research we have decided to buy bikes made by Worksman in New York City (http://www.worksmancycles.com/).  This company is one of the last (if not THE) last major company to make bikes in the United States and they specialize in heavy duty bikes for various uses.   While pricy, we were able to find a few bikes in our price range and Sharon was able to take hers home from the dealer while I had to order mine.  Hopefully I will have it within a few more weeks so that I can combine walking with bike riding in an effort to really lose weight.

So this is where I am at right now.  43 pounds down, able to walk much longer distances than I have been able to in at least two decades and an overall feeling of better health is something to be very happy about.  I still have a long way to go as I want to lose a total of 200 pounds but every little step and every ounce lost is a step in the right direction. Now I just need to stay away from vacations so I don’t put back on the weight I have lost and continue with the downward spiral of the scale’s numbers.  

Leave a Reply

